Florence and the Machine - Kiss With A Fist Music Video

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Florence and the Machine: "Lungs" CD album review

Florence and the Machine - Lungs

Click Here To Buy It Now!

(UK residents: Order now from Play.com)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 27, 2009)
  • Original Release Date: October 27, 2009
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Universal Republic

Florence Welch, better known alongside her band as Florence & the Machine, is a former Camberwell Art School student, who currently fronts the band. Musically, Florence and the Machine's unique sound is typically referred to as soul-inspired indie rock.

"Lungs" is the debut album for this quirky English pop rock group which features a collection of songs that that mixes different genres, going from fast and furios rock and roll to sweeping blues inspired ballads filled with moody guitar riffs. The singles are definitely the best tracks on the album. The impressive track "Dog Days Are Over" is sensitive yet fierce. Next is a slightly more reserved track, "Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up)", which leads her debut collection to be a glorious and awesome CD. Another song named "I'm not calling you a Liar" is a subject on adult contemporary territory which is really beautiful and emotional. Florence and the Machine's lyrics and musical style are completely unique and really make this album a must-have essential classic.

After this track is "Howl", which has a disco flavor and sounds more bombastic. Then, the mind-blowing and awesome "Kiss with a Fist" comes on as a fun and poppy relief mid-album, its raucous blues guitar riffs left unchanged from its original incarnation. This is followed by "Girl with One Eye", another early recording that features excellent lyrics alongside a huge production revamping which includes an epic orchestral crescendo. There are also other silly and humorous songs like "Between Two Lungs", the flirty "My Boy Builds Coffins" and the rocking "Hurricane Drunk" which all combine to make the album more fun and provide a greater variety of song styles.

The last song, titled "You've Got the Love", is given as a bonus track, and comes as a welcome chance to regain your breath after all of the songs on the album that make you want to get up and dance. In short, Florence and the Machine's CD Lungs is one of the greatest debut albums to come out from a band from the United Kingdom for a long time.

Not sure? Listen first! Check out some of the songs available on Lungs by Florence and the Machine with the player below and try before you buy:

Get a playlist! Standalone player Get Ringtones


  1. Hi I interviewed Florence last weekend as part of my all-UK radio show I host in Canada.

    We had a 15min chat to learn more about Florence the person behind the artist.

    If you would like to hear it, pls go to:



  2. Hey just wanted to say that this post was really interesting! I love Florence and the machine, so this post really had a lot of information about her and what influenced her songs. Your descriptions of the songs and how you broke down what the meaning of the song was was amazing,and really heartfelt.

  3. Hi im a huge fan of Florence and the machine! This post was such a great analysis of her album and the inspirations that helped to create these songs. They way you described what influenced her to write these songs was amazing and gives a lot of insight into the song.